Florida: (407) 636-7700 California: (702) 233-3063 Nevada: (702) 233-3063
Car Accidents

Hit And Run Accidents

Gavel & Cars

Car Accident Lawyers In Las Vegas, NV

Hit-and-run accidents can leave victims feeling hopeless, especially when they are unable to identify the suspect car or driver behind the wheel. Without someone to take responsibility, it may seem like victims are left without much choice but to foot their own bills. But, this is just simply not the case. With the help of an experienced hit and run accident attorney, injured victims have a better chance to get the compensation they rightfully deserve.

If you or a loved one has been involved in a hit-and-run car accident, contact our personal injury law firm right away to schedule a consultation. A car accident lawyer with Pursiano Barry Bruce Demetriades Simon LLP will be glad to help.

Request A Consultation

What Is Considered A Hit And Run?

Under Nevada law, it is a criminal offense for anyone involved in a motorized accident to leave the crash scene without exchanging information with the other parties and police. At a minimum, this information must include the following.

  • Name;
  • Address;
  • Driver’s license, upon request; and
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).

Leaving the scene without providing this information is considered a hit and run. Please note, crashing into parked vehicles and fleeing the scene without attempting to contact the car’s owner is also considered a hit and run.

Hit And Run Penalties

Violations can be charged as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the damages. The penalties are as follows.

  • If the crash resulted in property damages only — charged as a misdemeanor, punishable up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 in fines, and 6 points deducted from the driver’s license.
  • If the crash resulted in bodily injury or death — charged as a category B felony, punishable up to 20 years in prison, $5,000 in fines, and a license suspension or revocation.

Please note, these penalties may increase with previous traffic violations, as well as whether the fleeing driver was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). Depending on the case’s complexity and the number of injured parties, some drivers may also be charged with reckless driving, bodily injury, vehicular homicide, or similar charges.

What If The Police Can’t Find The Driver?

If police are unable to identify the driver, there may still be a few options left for crash victims, including the following.

  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UIM) — As the name implies, this type of insurance provides coverage for damages caused by a driver without car insurance or, in this case, an unidentified driver. Unfortunately, UIM is not required by Nevada law, so your car insurance policy may not include it.
  • Filing a claim against the driver’s employer — If the hit-and-run driver was driving a company vehicle or was on a work assignment at the time of the accident, you could file a lawsuit against that employer or vehicle’s owner.
Car Accident Lawyer

How A Hit And Run Attorney Can Help

The main priority in any hit-and-run case is to find the escapee driver. To help the police do so, your car accident lawyer will help collect evidence, interview any key witnesses, and counsel you in the best ways to move forward with the case. We can negotiate with your or the suspect driver’s insurance company to ensure fair compensation. If possible, we’ll help you avoid going to court, saving you time and money. However, if necessary, we’ll fight relentlessly in court and help you file a personal injury lawsuit against the hit-and-run driver.

To get started building a solid case, contact our personal injury law firm and schedule a consultation with one of our experienced car accident lawyers.

Florida Office
California Office